What is ROI “Return on Investment” in Digital Marketing? How to measure ROI on digital marketing?
What is ROI in Digital Marketing?
ROI is a very important aspect of Digital Marketing. ROI tells you whether you are getting your money’s worth from Digital Marketing. ROI’s full form in Digital Marketing is “Return on investment”. Digital Marketing ROI is the measure of profit and loss that you generate on your Digital Marketing campaign, It is basically based on how much you invested in the Digital Marketing campaign and how much profit you get from that campaign.
Calculating Digital Marketing ROI is very important because without measuring it, you are partially market blind. If you are not measuring the success of your campaign then you do not know what is working or what isn’t.
How to measure Digital Marketing ROI?
Understanding Digital Marketing ROI isn’t easy, as how much money different campaigns bring in and then compare it to the cost. Not all campaigns have end goals like conversion many campaigns are running for brand awareness, lead generation, or increase audience traffic.
So, basically how to measure Digital marketing ROI will depend on what your unique goals are. There is so much data available for you on Google Analytics is to help you to understand your goals.
So, We created a list of most common digital marketing ROI matrics used to help you measure ROI:
1. Conversion Rate:
If your Digital marketing goal is to convert then the conversion metric will tell you how you accomplish your goal. Conversion rate is one of the most popular metrics in Digital marketing to measure ROI.
When it comes to conversion rate there are a couple of things that you will need to look for. The first thing is the Conversion rate by channel. knowing where is your traffic coming from is only half of the battle. And you also look at which channels are converting the best. If you want some channels are better than others then you may invest more in these channels to improve ROI.
2. Cost Per Lead:
If the goal of your Digital Marketing is to collecting new leads for the sales team to close. Then you need to measure how much you are paying for each new lead.
This will help you to measure Returns Of Investment for a particular campaign.
Total ad spend
The formula for CPL: —————————
Total Attributed Leads
3. Lead Close Rate:
How are you tracking your close lead? I’m ready to bet you are doing this offline, which means that data isn’t being integrated into analytics or the online data you’re gathering.
Keeping an eye on your lead close rate gives you a better idea of how effective your digital marketing campaigns really are, which contributes to your return on investment.
Check your lead close rate against the leads that are being created. This will help you to know how valuable each of your marketing campaigns are.
4. Cost Per Acquisition:
Your cost per acquisition tells you how much it costs on average to acquire a new customer.
To calculate cost per acquisition, divide your total marketing costs by the number of sales generated.
5. Average Order Value:
Average order value (AOV) is an important metric that can help you to understand your digital marketing ROI. This metric tracks the average money amount that’s spent when a customer places an order. To calculate AOV, you’ll divide the total revenue by the number of orders.
While every business wants to see the number of orders increase over time, it’s also valuable to pay attention to the average value of each order. Being able to increase the average value of an order by even a small percentage can result in thousands of dollars of new revenue!
6. Landing Page performance:
There are many things to measure when it comes to the performance of your landing pages: Bounce rates, CTR, conversions rates, conversion assists, etc.
Look for any landing pages that aren’t helping drive conversions that need to be fixed or eliminated, or the marketing driving the traffic needs to change.
7. Customer Lifetime Value:
Customer lifetime value is an important measure for understanding your digital marketing ROI. This metric tells you what the average consumer will spend over their lifetime as a customer.
Though initial customer acquisition costs are important, using this metric as well will allow you to get a better understanding of a customer’s overall value.
For example, let’s say that it costs you $100 to acquire a customer. And that customer makes an initial purchase of $100. At first glance, this doesn’t provide you with a positive ROI. However, if this same customer spends $100 every month for the foreseeable future, then the initial $100 investment was well worth it.
Conclusion: Digital Marketing ROI is very important to calculate your campaign success. The metrics help you to understand how to calculate ROI.